Posted in Uncategorized

Has Big Brother 15’s Aaryn Gries REALLY Learned Her Lesson…?

 Sometimes when I am on the Twitter, I get engaged in these conversations that feel like they take 2000 texts to complete. That’s when I have to take to the twitlonger and just hammer out what I am saying. Problem. I am so long winded that I somehow doubt that the person I am talking to even completely reads the “tweet.” (I mean, can a 4000+ character tweet REALLY be called a “tweet” anymore? It’s more like a bird song complete with 4 verses, a bridge and a chorus!)

Anyway.

I got into a debate over whether or not Aaryn would actually learn anything from her actions in the house, and the way that the public is reacting to it. Obviously, the person I was debating with believes that she can and that she has ALREADY changed from who she was. I totally disagree – especially after watching her interview in which she threw shade to the modeling agencies that dropped her, saying that they weren’t so great anyway, and that she has six interviews tomorrow with six other agencies. Come on, now Aaryn, Is it really the time for that? Right now, you are hearing that your bigoted antics made national headlines, but you want to talk about how your modeling agencies weren’t all that good in the first place? OF COURSE, they had to drop you, Aaryn, because being connected to you is TOXIC for their business!

But, I digress….

Below is the response that I made to the gentleman on twitter. (He is a nice guy!)

I agree with you FULLY about why Aaryn is the way that she is. It is abundantly clear that she has grown up in an environment that promoted bigoted stereotypes. It’s just a hunch, but I have a feeling that that is why her parents refused to sign any releases that would allow Aaryn, or the show, to talk about them. So, my disagreement with you isn’t in regards to where Aaryn’s narrow minded beliefs come from. Bigotry is bred at home. When Aaryn said that her father would blame the HGs being “too PC” for her being evicted over “the queer,” it pretty much confirmed that.

What I disagree with you about is Aaryn’s mental and emotional capacity to empathize with others. I do, truly, believe that Aaryn is a narcissist, and that doesn’t have to do with her bigoted comments, alone. Just based upon how she handled conflict in the house, in general, you could see glimpses of her true narcissistic personality.

For instance… Aaryn could not actually see things from other people’s perspective. Ever. For a conflict to be “resolved,” it pretty much meant that you had to drop it. Also, she could never admit to doing anything wrong in the house.
Another thing is that, if you listened to the conversations she had with people, she always made it about her. As an example, if someone was telling her a story about their lives or an event, she would turn that story around to be about her OR, if she could not make it about her, she showed little to no interest or changed the subject. In having conversations, most people show interest towards the person they are conversing with. They will ask follow up questions about their experiences, etc, but Aaryn rarely did that.

Keeping it real, it doesn’t really take a genius to realize that, when you say something hurtful, it’s going to HURT people! lol. But, Aaryn was COMPLETELY oblivious to this, UNLESS – of course – someone was saying something mean (or something that she perceived to be mean) about her. And, even when those mean things weren’t half as bad of the stuff she said, she had a very hard time letting it go. People with empathy can take those situations, recognize how it made them feel, and then APPLY it to how they treat others. I don’t see Aaryn having the ability to do that, again, based upon the traits of narcissism she showcased in the house. I can almost bet that Aaryn will turn herself into a victim of people being too politically correct, at some point. Will she say that in front of the press? I don’t know, and that’s why I can’t absolutely bet that she will do that – no proof, yo! lol But, that would be keeping in line with the person she was all summer. 100%.

Finally, during the time where Aaryn was being nicer in the house, she wanted recognition for it. In one conversation with Judd she actually said that people should be giving her credit for being nicer. She also made comments about how hard it is for her to be nice and how being nice was pointless because she still ended up on the block, etc. She was so relieved when she had the green light to going back to being bitchy again, because most of the people who had a problem with it were out of the house.

Being a good person should not be a chore, but for Aaryn, it clearly is. If you are genuinely a good person, in your heart, you aren’t looking for people to reward you for it. It’s either who you are, or it isn’t.

The above is why I have a hard time believing that, after a few weeks, and watching “The Help,” Aaryn has completely had an about face and personality overhaul that would truly allow her to get the gravity of her actions. I believe that this is all about saving a career that she would LOVE to have in the limelight. In short (lol), I find it all to be quite disingenuous.

Again, all of this is JUST MY OPINION.

So… are you even still reading? 😀 Sorry, I have this thing about observing human behavior. It’s a pastime of mine and I REALLY should have been a psychologist. Ironically, Aaryn DID go to school for psychology! She needs a course on introspection, perhaps…

Anyway, if you DID read all of this, I commend your patience and hope that it explains why I feel the way that I do. It’s not just an opinion I’ve developed on a whim or because I am mad at her. I’ve actually thought about this in great depth… as you can see! LMAO.

Does the following sound familiar?

Narcissistic Personality Disorder:

Narcissistic personality disorder is a mental disorder in which people have an inflated sense of their own importance and a deep need for admiration. Those with narcissistic personality disorder believe that they’re superior to others and have little regard for other people’s feelings. But behind this mask of ultra-confidence lies a fragile self-esteem, vulnerable to the slightest criticism.

Narcissistic personality disorder is one of several types of personality disorders. Personality disorders are conditions in which people have traits that cause them to feel and behave in socially distressing ways, limiting their ability to function in relationships and in other areas of their life, such as work or school.

Symptoms of Narcissistic Personality Disorder:

  • Believing that you’re better than others

  • Fantasizing about power, success and attractiveness

  • Exaggerating your achievements or talents

  • Expecting constant praise and admiration

  • Believing that you’re special and acting accordingly

  • Failing to recognize other people’s emotions and feelings

  • Expecting others to go along with your ideas and plans

  • Taking advantage of others

  • Expressing disdain for those you feel are inferior

  • Being jealous of others

  • Believing that others are jealous of you

  • Trouble keeping healthy relationships

  • Setting unrealistic goals

  • Being easily hurt and rejected

  • Having a fragile self-esteem

  • Appearing as tough-minded or unemotional

Yup… I already know what you are thinking. That sounds like Amanda (and Andy!), too…. #justsaying

14 thoughts on “Has Big Brother 15’s Aaryn Gries REALLY Learned Her Lesson…?

  1. Yup… I already know what you are thinking. That sounds like Amanda, too…. #justsaying LOL. How’d you know I was thinking that? Except, Amanda has some capacity to empathize with others. For example, when she saw that GM was freaking out and crying when Amanda hid her Nick collection, Amanda relented, and gave it back. Aaryn wasn’t on board with giving it back which is ironic as she was supposedly GM’s friend. Interestingly, Jessie thought everyone was jealous of her, and that is one of the characteristics. I wonder if the HG were cast with varying degrees of Narcissistic personality disorder.

    1. I agree! That’s what it seemed like to me… That they had a lot of narcissist this year. The recruitment process may be to blame too because people who seek going on reality shows often are narcissists. Big Brother has been a bit different because you also get people who enjoy the game and just want too play it. They aren’t there to be famous. If they had gone for the superfan who just wanted to play the game vs eye candy, people who want to get hosting gigs after getting fame associated with being on the show, maybe this season would have been a lot better.

    2. About Amanda; do we credit her with performing so well, or do we concentrate on her ability to feel empathy and therefore believe she is not really as she chose to portray herself to advance her gameplay, but an intelligent actress in the making? Enjoyed Amanda’s latest 2 1/2 hr interview, but still wish she had not felt she needed all the nudity and crap talking to entertain us! She is very interesting and then there is the unlikely coupling with the pizza passive aggressive (his own words)
      young boy. It appears from everything I’ve read that she believes herself in love with McCrae. Guess we will see if opposites ( in your face assertive v passive aggressive non confrontational)….can actually give each other what they need to be safe and happy in a relationship! …….good luck guys! 😘 Hugs and best wishes to both of you.

      1. I don’t know. I think who she was in the house is who she is. I don’t think she’s a sociopath, so I am sure she could see when GM was getting upset that the prank should just end. GM didn’t react the way she thought she would. She thought she’d laugh or get mad and yell. Crying wasn’t what she expected at all and I think it freaked her out. lol Aaryn, tho, didn’t care one bit. She wanted to see it go further.

    3. Interesting read! Thank you, and you are right on the money, especially regarding the apologies, and how they should be phrased/expressed. You were wrong thinking Amanda came to mind regarding the narcissistic personality. My mind went straight to ELISSA ; ) For me, she was one of the most interesting HG’s to watch. I spose we can pin a bit of narcissism on all of them.

    1. OMG, YES! And andy! I will have to edit to add that. lol. Andy’s narcissism flew a bit more under the radar because he was smart enough to know that he couldn’t be a complete raging narcissist if he wanted to win. Sometimes he’d forget himself, though, and go on these diatribes about how awesome he was, and then he’d pull back and say something complimentary to the people he was talking to. It was like “OMG, I’m like SO totally awesome and the smartest person here… But, you are too!!” lolol

      1. Absolutely agree with you! A very clever narcissist (sp?) , but so into himself and that is what has makes him such an unpopular (newbie) rich person! His explicit sex conversations were sooo disgusting and gave us way more info that we needed, and helped us dislike him more!

      2. lol Yea. The other day he tweeted “tired and rich” or something like that. someone needs to tell him 300k, or whatever he gets after taxes, isn’t rich these days. But, let’s not burst his bubble.

    2. Wonder WHY I felt annoyed today while reading Elissa/Rachel/Brendon/Howard will now be appearing on BOLD and BEAUTIFUL? OMG, what did Howard do to look like he would have acting skills to warrant such an appearance? Nobody could understand a thing he was attempting to say….Helloooooooooo! I guess I’ll have to schedule my DVR for that just to seeeeee? I guess I feel these individuals should not be rewarded $$$$$$ for their incompetence and for boring us all summer! I have sooo enjoyed the full length frontal NUDE of GM’s Nick, and all the questions regarding whether he is gay or not! Information overload people; put your clothes on please!

      1. lol Did you see when they did the mock talk show for the After Dark peeps? That was the only time I really saw any personality out of Howard. Howard has this “switch” where he can be relatively entertaining if he switches it on, but the rest of the time he was kind of like.. plain oatmeal. I think for Howard it was hard for him to be himself in the house because he was trying walk this line between being nonthreatening and… something else. I lost my train of thought. lol. Anyway, Bold and the Beautiful is on CBS right? i don’t watch soaps…I don’t know how well you have to act to book a daytime soap though. I’m sure it is just some CBS tie in though. There were only so many people this season that weren’t offensive and would be safe to book. :p

      2. lol Did you see when they did the mock talk show for the After Dark peeps? That was the only time I really saw any personality out of Howard. Howard has this “switch” where he can be relatively entertaining if he switches it on, but the rest of the time he was kind of like.. plain oatmeal. I think for Howard it was hard for him to be himself in the house because he was trying walk this line between being nonthreatening and… something else. I lost my train of thought. lol. Anyway, Bold and the Beautiful is on CBS right? i don’t watch soaps…I don’t know how well you have to act to book a daytime soap though. I’m sure it is just some CBS tie in though. There were only so many people this season that weren’t offensive and would be safe to book. :p

  2. when reading this it was like reading my own words on the live feeds I continuously made these exact same observations ! WELL SAID ! I am also a lover of the art of human observing ! I have always tuned in for the unbelievable human experiment that Big Brother is. I have said that for the people who are casted that it is an very unique opportunity to observe their own behavior and also if how they match who they are REALLY with how they portray themselves. I am a 47 year old Registered Nurse that worked in an emergency room for many years and I had an
    up and close chance to see real life drama and the consequences of human beings actions. I thankfully never became jaded or gave up on hoping the best for us as humans. I hold out hope that many of BB 15 cast can truly observe themselves and dig deep into their souls and reflect on how their actions and words affected so many people.

    1. Thanks Tracy! I am probably a bit more jaded than you, but I do hope that at some point they grow from this and actually learn something. This cast definitely gave us a Big Brother experience like non other and reminds us that there really are some bad eggs out there. I hope Aaryn ultimately proves my observations wrong.

Leave a Reply

